vCake Club

Yes, this is me semi-live blogging my first try at Clandestine Cake Club’s virtual meet-up!

I’ll update this as I go along as simultaneously attempting to make cake and complain about stuff on the internet might be a bit tricky. I have my mandated cup of tea, and will be ably assisted by my guest today, Giac. Thankfully my cake is not tuna and/or ham based, so he’ll probably be ok with keeping his face out of the ingredients.

20130727_145547

20130727_145918

Today I’m making a gin and tonic cake – recipe here. My first two reactions to the recipe are (a) not made in a cake tin? That’s a bit weird…..and (b) URGH, CUPS AS A MEASURING DEVICE. My life would be a whole lot easier if everything was in grams.

The initial cake was fairly basic to make and has gone in the oven – once it’s out and needs glazing I’ll update again!

EDIT 1

Cake is out, and initial glaze is on! Hm, perhaps I should have thought about how to get it out of the tray once baked – maybe a layer of baking paper underneath it would have been smart. Oh well – if nothing else works I’ll have to cut it out, slice by slice. Waiting for it to cool now before putting the final icing on the top.

20130727_170244

EDIT 2

And here’s the finished product, with the icing on top. Still not out of it’s tray though – it’s going to need to be cut out which will have to wait until Monday as it’s for someone’s birthday.

2013-07-27 18.49.04

EDIT 3

Final verdict: a moderate success. I think the vanilla essence in the icing is a little over-powering; I’m going to remake the cake with lemon or lime in the icing instead, to give it that proper zesty taste.

2013-07-30 21.55.26

3 comments
  1. Hi Rich, I too took part in the VCake event. I love the sound of gin and tonic cake as I love gin and tonics and also cake! Did the icing have gin in it too? Hope it went down well for the birthday! :0)

  2. Hi Sam!

    Thanks for taking the time to come and look; yes, pretty much all of it had gin in it – some in the cake, then a bit in the glaze and then some more in the icing but it doesn’t taste like a very boozy cake.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 368 other followers

