Baking Course: Final Week

Yes, the final week was two weeks ago; much apologies, I am a terrible blogger and I feel bad.

I was expecting something a little more challenging, but I had fun making my meuillefeuille slice. In fact, the biggest challenge was rolling out three equal-sized pieces of puff pastry (my rolling skills are pretty weak) but, as you can see from the picture below, I more or less managed it. I think in the future I’d try and find some sort of a cutter so I can make a batch of these rather than one large pastry.

Making the creme patissiere again was good practice and I’m confident I can make it again in the future, and then doing the decoration in the icing on the top of the pastry was much easier than I was expecting.

I’ve learnt a heck of a lot in the last ten weeks, and it’s really helped increase my confidence as a baker. I’m much happier looking at more complicated recipes and thinking how they’d be fun to try and make rather than be intimidated by them. I think I’ll do what I promised a bunch of posts ago – each week (starting in the New Year) I’ll stick up a couple of recipes and then people can vote which one I should make. I really I’m not overestimating the amount of people who read this or it could turn out as a bit embarrassing.

I’m really looking forward to the first meeting of the Cardiff branch of the Clandestine Cake Club – and they’ve contacted me to see if I’d be a part of their ‘Men Who Bake’ feature! So hopefully there’ll be more horrible photos of my mug on a new part of the web shortly. I’ve also got my Mum’s tealoaf recipe to try making, and a new cookbook to go through so I’m still excited about the whole baking thing going into 2012.

1 comment
  1. Vic said:

    No-one appears to have commented to say they’re still reading, but I am, albeit a bit sporadically. As I said on a previous post, you’re inspirational – you’ve made me start baking again and I do still love it, so thank you and keep up the excellent blog!

Leave a Reply

