Sticky Toffee Pudding cupcakes

With the British summer continuing in spectacular fashion, I spent my Sunday afternoon making cupcakes: specifically, these sticky toffee pudding cupcakes from the Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook. Not the trickiest things to make, but they really do taste like the actual pudding and it allowed me to practice with my icing. I think I’d like to go on a course at some point on decorating as my piping really isn’t as good as I’d like it to be. I also occasionally wonder if using the piping bag to fill the cupcake cases with batter would make it easier to put an even amount in each (and also give me less of an opportunity to tip half of it down the edges of the case).

I’m also kind of the opinion that I could have halved the amount of icing in the cupcakes, but the current vogue is for heavy icing.

It does feel like I’m learning through experience though!

Our next project for the Clandestine Cake Club has been announced; the theme will be ‘there’s no place like home’ which is either a recipe that reminds us of where we came from or perhaps something using ingredients grown in our garden; seeing as everything green I touch ends dying a horrible death I’ll be going with the former – my Mum makes a Scandinavian Apple Cake that uses crumbled up Madeira cake as the base. When I’ve made this before I’ve used shop-bought Madeira, but I think I should have a go at making my own.

Someone from work has asked me to make a cake for their birthday – I guess that’s my first commission (which is both exciting and terrifying at the same time)!

Leave a Reply

