Caramelised Peach Cake: Ooops!

In making myself better at this baking lark, I think it’s good to embrace failure as well as success; plus, the chances of getting some additional hits on the blog go up massively as who can’t resist looking at a disaster?

This past Friday my work held a bake sale for MacMillan (the very worthy Cancer charity, not the tiny tequila-soaked shouty man many of us know); I initially was going to bake the Key Lime Pie seen on the Great British Bake Off, but lack of appropriate flan case and time ran against me. Instead, I found a caramelised peach cake in one of my books which looked appealing and relatively simple – melted butter and light brown muscavdo sugar forming the top, then sliced peach halves with the cake batter poured over them and cooked upside down.

Easy enough – or so I thought. The results kind of speak for themselves.

The peaches, I think, were too moist and the top of the cake never cooked properly – unlike the base, which was completely done and close to burning. The caramelised top came off with the baking paper in the base of the pan. I went over the recipe again and I’d followed it pretty meticulously; it might be a case that the temperature needed to be dropped but I think I’ll notch that one up to experience and move on.

I think attempting something relatively simple – some sort of cupcakes – would be good this week for getting my confidence back on track. I’ve also managed to get my great-Grandmother’s Xmas cake recipe, so that will need to go in the oven this weekend so an appropriate amount of booze can start to be added to it.

5 comments
  1. hello there and thank you for your info – I have certainly picked up
    anything new from right here. I did however expertise several technical issues using this site, as
    I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times
    previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web
    host is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my email and could look out for much more of your respective exciting content. Ensure that you update this again very soon.

  2. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues of plagorism
    or copyright violation? My site has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any techniques to help stop content from being ripped off? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  3. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the posts I realized it’s new to
    me. Anyways, I’m definitely pleased I stumbled upon it and I’ll
    be bookmarking it and checking back often!

  4. Your method of describing everything in this post is in fact nice, all
    be able to simply be aware of it, Thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

