Last Xmas post before next year!

Here’s the final update before all seasonal shenanigans are done with; firstly, the final Christmas cake! I used Mary Berry’s recipe for icing from here and it turned out delicious. I didn’t really have a plan when going to ice the cake barring ‘dump it all on top and then try and smooth it out as it runs down the sides’. Next time I’ll need to get myself a palette knife and some hot water so it can be shaped properly.

IMAG0276

One of these days, I’ll read up on these tips before I dive in head-first.

The cake itself is a little dry – I think I was wary of it being cooked all the way through and, as a result, left it in the oven probably 15-20 minutes too long. The brandy has helped keep it somewhat moist, though, and in terms of flavour it really does taste like my Gran’s cake. The marzipan should be thicker, and the icing better shaped but as said – this was a learning experience and next year’s should be an improvement.

Finally, I made roulade as a Christmas day for the strange people who don’t like pudding – I’ve realised that although mentioning it several times in previous updates, I never took a photo of it.

IMAG0277

IMAG0278

Happy New Year! I’m going to attempt to re-do the design of the website and keep doing regular updates in 2013, so I’d like to say a big ‘thanks!’ to everyone who’s taken time over the last year to read and comment.

1 comment
  1. Ana said:

    Hi I’m Ana from Fooduel.com. It is a site in which users vote recipes
    from 1 to 10.

    There is a ranking of the best recipes and a profile with your voted recipes. Each recipe has a link to the blog which belongs the recipe. This way you will get traffic to your blog.

    It’s easy, fast and fun. The best Photo recipes will be here.

    I invite you to enter, add your blog and upload a recipe with a nice photo.

    You are able to see your stats:

    -Number of visits to your blog from Fooduel.com.
    -Number of votes received every day
    -Number of votes received by each category
    -Number of votes for each grade (1-10)
    -Number of votes for each recipe.

    Look this example of one profile stats: http://fooduel.com/stats1.png

    We would love that you participate with some recipe.Look Amazing!

    Regards

    http://www.Fooduel.com

Leave a Reply

