Recipe book review – Clandestine Cake Club Cookbook

I’ve never done a recipe book review, but feel sort of inclined to do so now; such things have become something of a default gift for people to pass on to me and whilst the normal book will have a couple of interesting things in them here or there they’re often quite homogenous.

I will, however, rave about the Clandestine Cake Club book.

It’s full of recipes by the founder, Lynn Hill, and the various attendees of the events that run the length and breadth of the UK and beyond. They’re different, experimental and interesting and written with such enthusiasm that I can’t wait to try them out. Glorious sounding bakes like Dark Chocolate and Amaretto, Japanese Green Tea and Orange, Sweet Potato and Pecan, and the opinion-dividing Chocolate and Caramel Marmite cake.

I can’t recommend it enough, and not just because I attend the events.

I made the White Chocolate and Raspberry loaf, which was both lovely and moist, and a very simple cake to make. I did have a picture, but I deleted it because I am an idiot. Sorry. But here’s a picture of the book!

20130609_163149

Next: pastry!

Leave a Reply

